LEARN MORE AT: my Leave Benefits.nj.gov

CASH BENEFITS

FOR HEALTH CONDITIONS AND PREGNANCY/CHILDBIRTH RECOVERY

NJ TEMPORARY DISABILITY INSURANCE

Temporary Disability benefits can partially replace your wages when you have to stop working due to a physical or mental health condition or other disability unrelated to your work, including pregnancy/childbirth and COVID-19.

Most New Jersey workers qualify

To be eligible you must:

- meet earnings requirements in the 18 months prior to the start of your claim; see the current year's requirements at myleavebenefits.nj.gov;
- stop working due to an illness/injury that is not caused by your job; and
- be under the care of a licensed medical provider.

For work-related disabilities, see: myleavebenefits.nj.gov/workrelated



Apply for benefits online at myleavebenefits.nj.gov

It's your responsibility to ensure that a complete application – including the medical provider portion – is submitted to the Department's Division of Temporary Disability Insurance.

If you're planning ahead for your leave you can start the application up to 60 days in advance and save it as a draft. Once your leave begins, you can return to your draft to certify and submit your application. If applying after your leave begins, you have 30 days from your first day of leave to file your application.

It can take two to six weeks to approve a claim and pay benefits, once we have a complete application.

Receive 85% of your average weekly wages, up to a maximum

See the current year's maximum weekly benefit level at **myleavebenefits.nj.gov.** Your medical provider certifies how long you need to recover from your medical condition, up to a maximum of 26 weeks. After you start receiving Temporary Disability benefits, we may ask you to provide us with proof of your continuing disability to keep receiving benefits.

Learn about how you'll be paid at myleavebenefits.nj.gov/yourpayment



Temporary Disability Insurance for pregnancy/childbirth recovery

Temporary Disability provides cash benefits for pregnant parents when they need to stop working before giving birth and while recovering afterward. Parents can transition directly from Temporary Disability to bonding benefits, also known as Family Leave Insurance. Learn more at **myleavebenefits.nj.gov/maternity.**

Covered employers and employees

Most employers must participate in the State Temporary Disability Insurance plan and deduct your payroll taxes for it, or provide a private plan. The federal government is exempt and it is optional for local governments (for example counties, municipalities and school districts). Generally, employees who work a significant amount of time outside of New Jersey are not covered, but are encouraged to apply to find out if they are eligible.

If you are covered under a private plan, your employer's insurance carrier is responsible for processing and paying benefits on your disability claim. Reach out to your employer to learn more about your coverage and get an application.

Job protection

Temporary Disability Insurance is a wage replacement program and does not provide job protection. However, your job may be protected under the federal Family & Medical Leave Act (FMLA), which is a separate law enforced by the U.S. Department of Labor. Generally, employers with at least 50 employees are covered under FMLA and must provide up to 12 weeks of job-protected, unpaid medical leave. You may need to provide notice to your employer if you're taking leave under this law.

In addition, if an employer retaliates against you for taking or seeking to take Temporary Disability benefits, you have the right to take private legal action.

For more information, visit myleavebenefits.nj.gov/jobprotection.

For further assistance





T: 609-292-7060 MONDAY-FRIDAY 8:00 am - 4:30 pm

F: 609-984-4138



Temporary Disability and Family Leave Insurance PO Box 387 | Trenton | NJ | 08625

Hearing-impaired individuals may inquire about their claim via the Telecommunication Device for the Deaf **(TDD)**: **609-292-8319**, or the NJ Relay Service at **1-800-852-7899**.